Masters Green Jacket – History, Rules & US Masters Winners

The US Masters green jacket is one of the most iconic awards in sport – but which golfers are on the US Masters winners list?
・The Green Jacket was first awarded to Sam Snead in 1949
・Jack Nicklaus is the most successful Masters player with six titles
・Betting on the Masters is simple – who will win the Green Jacket this year?

The Masters Green Jacket is one of the most coveted awards in sport. If you’re betting on golf at the US Masters, chances are you will find odds on a player to win the Green Jacket. Awarded to the winning player at Augusta National, the Masters Green Jacket has a long and illustrious history, with the tradition starting back in 1937.

・Masters Green Jacket History
・Masters Green Jacket Rules
・Masters Green Jacket Winners
・Masters Green Jacket Betting

Jack Nicklaus is the most successful player in Masters history, winning the Green Jacket on six occasions. He was 46 years old when he won the Masters Green Jacket for the final time. Scroll down now for our Masters Green Jacket guide, with a look back at the history, rules and an early look at Masters golf odds for next year’s tournament.

Masters Green Jacket History
Presented to the winner of the US Masters each year, the Green Jacket is unique to the Augusta National event – sports betting fans will be familiar with this iconic golf award. Initially, members wore jackets in 1937 to distinguish themselves from patrons. This way, Augusta National members would stand out to members of the public who required any assistance. In fact, the first Green Jacket awarded to a Masters winner was in 1949, with Sam Snead’s triumph cementing his spot in the US Masters history books. As the Masters Green Jacket tradition continued to grow, organisers made the decision to incorporate a presentation ceremony at the end of the weekend.

There is one exception to the rule, however. 1961 US Masters winner Gary Player became the first international golfer to win the event and returned to South Africa along with the Green Jacket. One year later, Player forgot to bring the jacket back. While he still has his Jacket back in South Africa, Player agreed never to wear the item of clothing in public.

Masters Green Jacket Rules
Golf fans around the world tune in every year to watch the US Masters but there will be plenty out there who are unaware of the official Green Jacket guidelines. The Masters Green Jacket rules have been in place for decades and the history and heritage surrounding the most iconic piece of clothing in sport must be respected.

Here are the main Green Jacket rules to remember ahead of the US Masters
・Jackets are reserved solely for club members and Masters winners. Taking the Green Jacket off the golf course is forbidden unless you are the most recent Masters champion.
・The current champion is allowed to keep the Green Jacket for one year before returning it during the following year’s competition.
・The jacket received at the winner’s ceremony is only temporary – a fitted Green Jacket is issued shortly after the tournament.
・When a new champion is crowned, the previous Green Jacket winner has to keep his jacket at the clubhouse.
・Previous winners can ONLY wear their Masters Green Jacket and/or if representing the Masters and/or Augusta National at an event related to the club.

Masters Green Jacket Winners
You have to be one of the best golf players on the planet to win the Masters Green Jacket – one mistake can prove fatal around Augusta National. Some of the greatest golfers of all-time have managed to get their hands on the Green Jacket over the years, with the likes of Tiger Woods, Jack Nicklaus and Phil Mickelson all enjoying success at the course.

Here is the full list of Masters Green Jacket winners, starting from the first time the item of clothing was awarded in 1949.
・2020 – Dustin Johnson
・2019 – Tiger Woods
・2018 – Patrick Reed
・2017 – Sergio Garcia
・2016 – Danny Willett
・2015 – Jordan Spieth
・2014 – Bubba Watson
・2013 – Adam Scott
・2012 – Bubba Watson
・2011 – Charl Schwartzel
・2010 – Phil Mickelson
・2009 – Ángel Cabrera
・2008 – Trevor Immelman
・2007 – Zach Johnson
・2006 – Phil Mickelson
・2005 – Tiger Woods
・2004 – Phil Mickelson
・2003 – Mike Weir
・2002 – Tiger Woods
・2001 – Tiger Woods
・2000 – Vijay Singh
・1999 – José María Olazábal
・1998 – Mark O’Meara
・1997 – Tiger Woods
・1996 – Nick Faldo
・1995 – Ben Crenshaw
・1994 – José María Olazábal
・1993 – Bernhard Langer
・1992 – Fred Couples
・1991 – Ian Woosnam
・1990 – Nick Faldo
・1989 – Nick Faldo
・1988 – Sandy Lyle
・1987 – Larry Mize
・1986 – Jack Nicklaus
・1985 – Bernhard Langer
・1984 – Ben Crenshaw
・1983 – Seve Ballesteros
・1982 – Craig Stadler
・1981 – Tom Watson
・1980 – Seve Ballesteros
・1979 – Fuzzy Zoeller
・1978 – Gary Player
・1977 – Tom Watson
・1976 – Raymond Floyd
・1975 – Jack Nicklaus
・1974 – Gary Player
・1973 – Tommy Aaron
・1972 – Jack Nicklaus
・1971 – Charles Coody
・1970 – Billy Casper
・1969 – George Archer
・1968 – Bob Goalby
・1967 – Gay Brewer
・1966 – Jack Nicklaus
・1965 – Jack Nicklaus
・1964 – Arnold Palmer
・1963 – Jack Nicklaus
・1962 – Arnold Palmer
・1961 – Gary Player
・1960 – Arnold Palmer
・1959 – Art Wall, Jr.
・1958 – Arnold Palmer
・1957 – Doug Ford
・1956 – Jack Burke, Jr.
・1955 – Cary Middlecoff
・1954 – Sam Snead
・1953 – Ben Hogan
・1952 – Sam Snead
・1951 – Ben Hogan
・1950 – Jimmy Demaret
・1949 – Sam Snead

Masters Green Jacket Betting
When it comes to betting on golf, the US Masters is arguably the most eagerly anticipated major on calendar. It can be a long old winter for golf betting fans but Augusta National in April is a sight to behold and 888sport is the place to be for US Masters coverage. With the best golf betting tips around, our team of experts have you covered ahead of the major tournaments – who will be donning the Green Jacket next year?